2 weeks into the month, first post for November; I’m slackin!


But for good reason!  I’ve been working both jobs now since November 1st so I’m constantly going back and forth between my two computers.  With the new business we are making some progress and it looks like we should close our first deal sometime next week.  It has taken much longer then we anticipated and we are having some lead and marketing issues, however we just need to get that first deal on the books and I think they’ll start to fall more frequently.  We tried a direct mail marketing postcard which yielded no results, but we’ve been using 1 other method which has been keeping us afloat.  The problem is that there is a limited amount of leads so we definitely need to get a few more reliable sources.

The bottom line is that things are going well and I’m super excited for when we close that first deal because it will show that it is possible and this dream is becoming realized.  Like I mentioned above, I think that will happen sometime this week.

Our goal was to have 30-50 deals on the books before the end of the year and the way things are going now I’m not sure if that’s possible.  I think 20 is a more realistic number to shoot for and even that will be difficult simply because we need to get our marketing figured out and because it’s the holiday season.  If we can get 3-5 days before the end of November, and an additional 10-15 before the end of December, I’ll be happy with that.

My regular job has been extremely slow and it’s been a relatively smooth transition starting this company.  Everyday I seem to spend more and more time with the new company and less and less with my current employer.  The way things are going now I’m not sure when I’ll quit but juggling both jobs hasn’t been much of a problem so it’s nice to know that I should be able to earn a living while I’m waiting for our own company to take off.  I cannot tell you how important this is!  In the past I’d just jump in with both feet and would typically have living expenses saved for 6 months to a year.  The problem with that is that business always takes longer then you expect for it to take off and I’d end up being stressed out in a matter of months because my savings would be getting low and my business wouldn’t be producing revenue yet.

For any aspiring entrepreneur’s out there I’d say to keep this in mind when starting a company because it helps so much!  Not having to worry about bills and living expenses keeps you much more positive during the start-up phase and relieves a lot of pressure!  This, in turn, will most likely make you more successful because you aren’t as desperate to close that first deal and you don’t come across that way to potential clients!

This is obviously more difficult if you have a wife and kids to support, but if you are single it shouldn’t be hard to do both.  Keep your living expenses as low as possible and work a regular job.  Then during your free time schedule blocks that you will work on the new gig.  As the new company grows those time blocks will slowly increase while you start to cut back your regular job hours.  Before you know it, you will be 100% self-employed.

Anyways, it’s sunday morning and I’m about to leave for the gym.  It’s overcast today in Arizona and I love this weather because it reminds me of Connecticut where i grew up.  There will definitely be a post made after we close our first deal so I’d expect that later this week!

  1. November 14th, 2011
    Trackback from : giant twist comfort cs

Leave a Reply

