Direct mail marketing: Finally some fucking feedback!


As I mentioned earlier, the goal this week was to just get my business partner’s phone ringing.  Although it’s not just a matter of getting the phone to ring, but also getting it to ring with good qualified prospects.  Today we got our first call from the mailers that were sent and it turned out to be a good lead that will hopefully convert to business.  1 call isn’t anything to get excited about but 1 is better than none!

I also decided to pull the trigger on the mass marketing campaign.  The decision was made on Tuesday and I spent all day getting that prepared; it went out today.  Typically you are looking at a 2-4 day time period for these particular mailers to hit so I’m expecting to see some sort of response by Friday-Saturday and going into next week.  A total of 685 went out, so if we get a 2.5% response we’re looking at 17-18 calls.

This mailer is a very important test because it’s the one mailer that I can really turn up the volume on without a problem.  There are no shortage of potential prospects to mail to and sending out mass mailers with the system we use does not take long at all.  I also decided to open a new google ad words account and will start running some tests with that later on this week if possible.

I put in a lot of calls to various newspapers to see what their rates were for a print ad in the classifieds and I might run a test there depending on how well this mailing does.  During my conversation with my business partner today he repeatedly voiced his disgust for the current marketing within the company and said repeatedly; “they really don’t know what the fuck they are doing.  The phone should be ringing off the hook.”

I agree, and it’s up to me to make that happen.  I wish budget wasn’t an issue because TV and Radio is definitely the way to go with this but that costs money and it’s something we won’t be able to do until we’re more established and making some cash.

I’ll most likely post at the end of the week or over the weekend with an update on what happened with the mass mailing campaign.

Positive thoughts!

Peace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

