I’m a hypocrite and I contradict myself


But let me explain!

I’ve made tons of blog posts in the past about my situation and how “this is going to be a big week,” or if “this doesn’t work this week I’m done,” yet I still come back and talk about how I tried something and it didn’t work, but I’m going to “try 1 more thing.”

What I’ve been realizing is that no matter how much I’d like to say it (and I do on my blog) I simply cannot and will not give up.  I think my life would be easier if I just would give up and maybe subconsciously that’s why I’m making those posts.  I tell myself, “after this I’m done and it’s over but at least I tried,” but here I am again writing about another marketing idea I’m going to try.

I know this reasoning is NOT normal by any means and 99.9% of the population doesn’t think this way.  I guess it’s the curse of being an entrepreneur; I simply will not allow myself to stop until every last option has been exercised, every possible fund exhausted, and every potential breakthrough explored.

To summarize what happened last week; this goes hand-in-hand with my last blog post, the marketing didn’t work.  So what does that mean???

Well in my post I said it meant that I would be packing it in but I’m here to tell you that’s not going to happen.  My business partner has given up and moved on which puts me in an awkward situation because now I’m thinking, WHEN I DO close my first deal, is he entitled to any of it?  I still kept
faith, spent more marketing money, and did all the work so should I give him any of the profits?  He did put in several months of time/effort but I really don’t know what that means.

Do you think the people whom helped start Google but quit when the going got tough received any sort of monetary compensation for their efforts; after the company took off?  I honestly don’t know…

I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Anyways, enough of that bullshit and back to more important things; why did the marketing campaign not work?  Well it can be a number of different reasons all of which I have theories on but I will not go into 100% detail about.  1 thing I will mention is that the envelopes I used were fucked.  With this particular direct mail campaign you are supposed to use smaller envelopes that look more like they contain a card or invitation, not the legal sized envelopes I used.  Apparently the smaller envelopes increase response rates dramatically because people will almost always open an envelope
like that.  It doesn’t look like a marketing piece at all and obviously it’s just human curiosity to see what’s inside.

All of last week I prepared another mailing which went out yesterday.  Same mail piece but this time I used the smaller envelopes.  I used all of my contact information in the mailer since my business partner threw in the towel.  This upcoming week I’ll be able to see how much of a difference the smaller envelopes make and I did some other little things to try and make the mailer more attractive.

I also made the decision to do another mailing to a different type of list and that will begin this upcoming week as well.  That will be checked and confirmed on Monday and if possible, the mailing will go out by Tuesday the latest.  I setup a different phone number for that mailing as well so I can test the effectiveness of it.

The goal this week is 1 thing and 1 thing only – to make the fucking phone ring!  I need leads and they need to be good leads.  I have investors waiting to buy but can’t seem to find motivated sellers.  The REO market is a complete crapshoot out here so I’m trying to find another niche with less competition.  If I can get a smaller niche to work I can focus on dominating it and making some serious cash.  Right now the REO market is way too saturated and I’m not even going to fuck around with that anymore.

I just need to find 1 motivated seller and I know I can flip the property, I fucking know I can.

I think that’s why I’m unable to give up on this.  Half of the puzzle is already done (my buyers/investor list) and once I figure out this other half I should be golden.

I also began thinking; “ok, absolute worst case scenario, if this doesn’t work what happens?”

Well, I’ll be broke and I’ll need a job.  I’ve been there before and done that.  It’s a shitty position to be in but I know I’ll survive and figure out a way to sustain myself.  It’s not like I’ll fucking die or anything so I at least owe it to myself to try and make this thing work for as long as I can.

So that’s where I’m at right now.  I have to make the phone ring this week by any means necessary.

  1. We need copy writers desperately. After reviewing your article, We have got to get you on our team. We pay out $35-$50 hourly. Our top rated writers are pulling in over $91K a YEAR, composing part time.
    Please stop by and see what we have to offer. http://write.ncsall.org

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

