Goals and plans for the week of March 28th


It’s Monday morning and here’s the situation. 🙂

Not much has changed since my last blog post.  I spent the entire weekend just relaxing at my apartment.  I laid by the pool a few times and got some color and did my usual weekend workouts.  I got a lot of errands done and had a productive weekend for not doing any work.

Today my business partner has an appointment to get looked at by his doctor who’s going to tell him they are going to do the surgery on Wednesday or Friday.  We are obviously hoping for Wednesday but it depends on what the doctor says.  He really can’t do anything until he gets it taken care of and I’m trying to stay as busy as possible but there is only so much I can do until he’s 100%.

I’m continuing to pull comps and practicing my “valuation” on subject properties.  There is a very strict criteria that needs to be met in order for us to invest in a subject property and you go through a lot before you find a possible deal.  The more practice the better and that’s what I’ve been doing.  We’re about 2 weeks behind due to his health issues but I’m not stressed about it because there is nothing I can do.  It’s out of my control and one thing I’m trying to getting better at is not worrying about something that is out of my control.

Once he’s back on his feet we’ll start making offers and we’ll know if this thing is going to work or not.  The marketing works great so it’s safe to think that the other aspects should work as well if we do them correctly.

One thing I forgot to mention in my last blog post was that I got a call from an investor we were working with last week.  It was a guy who we thought was interested in the older investment we were offering but he never got the funds together to invest and we just eventually wrote him off and stopped contacting him.  After a month of no contact he called me out of the blue and asked if I remembered him.  He basically said that he still wants to invest and is committed; he is just having trouble getting the funds together.  The guy is a 100% disabled veteran and it sounds like he’s starting a real estate investment fund for himself as well as other disabled veterans.  Getting the paperwork, grant money, non-profit status and everything else set up has been taking time but he did say he is planning on sending his business through us and he’ll contact us when he’s ready.  It was good to hear and it would be nice if we end up doing business together, but at this point I’m not holding my breath.  We’ve been talking to this guy since last year.

In terms of our existing endeavors we both feel good about the overall plan and what we intend to do, but we won’t be 100% convinced until we close that first deal.  At this point nothing else matters.  After my business partner is healthy we cannot have anymore distractions or anything affecting our ability to hit our goal.  All of our focus has to be on getting that first deal closed because once we close 1, we’ll be convinced it works and will close another, and another, and so on…

The first deal is always the hardest in any business and sales is all about momentum.  Unfortunately our momentum has slowed due to my business partner’s health issues so it’s up to us to get it going again.

I’ve been looking at properties in California more and more lately and I’m really fired up to make some money.  The residential housing market has pretty much bottomed out and there are steals anywhere.  If I want to buy in California I will have to do it soon because there are so many deals and real estate is so expensive there.  It’s providing some added motivation for me to earn some damn money so I can lay my roots somewhere and establish myself.

Will I move to California or stay here in Scottsdale?  I honestly don’t know.  I’m much happier here then I’ve ever been in the past but anything can happen.  1 year ago I would have said, “I’m moving,” without the slightest hesitation.  Now I’m more open to things happening and I understand that sometimes things aren’t that simple.  I could meet the woman of my dreams or simply have an amazing opportunity here where I am that I would be an idiot not to take advantage of; a lot can happen 8 or 9 months.

I think by the end of the year I’m going to have to seriously consider buying something though.  Rental rates are astronomical and I can buy a condo for what I’m paying here in rent and my mortgage payment would be almost half.

Anyways, I’m ranting now.  I hope you all have a great week and remember to stay positive and to set your goals for the week!  If there is anyone bringing you down or not being supportive, cut them out of your life!  Don’t surround yourself with pessimists; they are an entrepreneur’s kryptonite.

Peace!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

