Snail-like progression


I’m reminded of the story of the tortoise and the hare.  You all know what I’m talking about; the hare takes off at blazing speed during the race and leaves the tortoise in its tracks.  The hare gets so far ahead that he begins getting cocky and starts taking breaks, relaxing, and just loses his overall focus.  Meanwhile, the tortoise continues pressing forward at a slow but steady pace until he ultimately wins the race…

How is this relevant?  Well the investor still has yet to send us the information we need and it’s going on 3 weeks now.  Our initial understanding was that the email was going to be a basic summary of what he was looking for in the investment.  If we were able to meet his terms, then things would get down to the nitty-gritty.  At this point I can’t really see that being the case because he has taken so long to send us this information that I’m expecting some sort of long packet/package.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, because he may be thinking that if he maps out every detail now, and we can do a deal, the next step will be lightening quick because there is nothing left to discuss.  My business partner and I hope this is what’s going on, but we can’t be 100% sure until we get that email.

If the email ends up being very basic, then that just tells us that this deal is going to take much longer to close than we anticipated.  We aren’t losing faith in the seriousness of the investor, we just don’t understand how someone who stressed “time,” and “eagerness” can take 3 weeks to send a damn email.  Who really knows what’s going on but much like the tortoise, it’s probably best to let him work at his own pace, slow and steady, until the deal is done.

So I met with my business partner this morning and he had a much better attitude about everything.  I think he finally accepted the fact that this deal is going to happen at the speed the investor chooses and there is nothing we can do about it.  In the meantime we are going to try some different types of marketing to hopefully get some good prospects that actually convert.  We are done running ads in the Wall Street Journal.  They generate calls, but they are generating the wrong type of prospect for this investment.

Anyways, my goals for this week don’t seem like they are going to happen and its nothing I can get upset about.  Until we get that email we can’t move forward and I can’t nag or push the investor too hard because I don’t want to rub him the wrong way.  I’m still sticking by my goal of getting paperwork exchanged and reviewed by both parties before the end of the month.  I still feel that’s a reasonable expectation.  I am hoping that we receive the email by the end of the weekend.  My business partner doesn’t think it will happen; I do.

If I don’t have anything by tomorrow afternoon I plan on sending the investor a quick email just touching base to see if he’s making progress.  Again, I don’t want to be too pushy, but I also want him to know that I’m waiting for that info and I’m not going to leave him alone until I get it.  

We plan on starting the new marketing campaign as soon as possible.  There is an upfront cost to get it going and we are waiting for funds to be deposited into our account so we can move forward.  If this doesn’t happen tomorrow it should happen on Monday.  I really don’t want to sit around for another weekend doing nothing but if it happens there is not much I can do.

That’s it for now; hopefully I have something more positive and meaningful to write later.  Peace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

