Yesterday was HUGE


Well yesterday could have not gone better aside from actually having paperwork signed and funds transferred.  My goal for the day was to make something happen and we did just that.  I’m very happy with my business partner and myself because we said “enough was enough” and took the bull by the horns.

The whale investor we are working with said he was going to email our business associate some bullet points in terms of what he wanted with the investment.  He said this last Friday and she never received anything.  Eventually we told her that we were going to call him to basically find out what he wanted; enough fucking around here, we wanted to cut to the chase.

So I called him from my business partner’s house so we could both be on the line.  He was about to head into a meeting and said he couldn’t talk but I got a little info out of him before we got off the phone.  Afterwards I sent him an email saying thanks for taking the time to talk and to please make sure he sends me a copy of the criteria he’s looking for so we are all on the same page.  So I went home thinking, “well at least he knows we are waiting on that info and want to get rolling.”

After I left, my business partner called me and said, “get your ass back here, he just called back after reading your email and he wants to hammer this out now.  I told him you just left but we would call him once you got back.”  So I turned around and we called him again.

This time we spent about 20 minutes on the phone with him and we really hammered out the details as far as what he wanted; numbers, percentages, fees, the joint venture, everything.  He also said after our discussion that he would still email our business associate everything and would send me a copy as well.  Also it turns out that our thoughts were correct.  He is a money broker and wants a joint venture/loan situation.  The best news is that given what he wants, there is no way in hell this can be an investment deal that pays us the shitty commission I mentioned in my previous blog post on the 1st.  The numbers just wouldn’t work.  So if a deal is going to be done, it will have to be done in the manner that pays us the big bucks. 🙂  Lastly, after we got off of the phone with him and analyzed the numbers, we were able to determine that what he was asking for seemed completely reasonable and we felt as though a deal could definitely be worked out that fit within his guidelines.

Granted, there are some things on the backend that we aren’t 100% aware of, but from what we know it seems completely plausible that we can work something out.

After the conversation we both were ecstatic and my business partner said this is the best he’s ever felt since we first got involved with this.

We also have a backup plan if our business associate can’t do the deal, and to be honest the only reason why she wouldn’t is if she simply doesn’t have the guts.  I don’t see that happening, but if it does I still think we can work something out with the investor.

The best thing about this whole conversation with him is we reestablished our relationship and report with him, and he seemed happy that we called because it showed we are aggressive and not looking to waste anyone’s time.  I think he appreciated that.  He mentioned that he talks to so many people and maybe 2 out of 100 he is able to work a deal with.  So I think it comes down to the fact that he is just becoming frustrated with people who are all talk and no game.

So from February 1st we’ve done a complete 180 and things look good.  I was a wreck earlier this week and now I’m on cloud 9.  Again, nothing is final until the documents are signed and the checks are cut, but we are definitely closer than we’ve ever been in the past.

One last thing I want to mention is that the investor is originally from Connecticut.  I couldn’t believe it!  I told him I was born and raised and we spent some time talking about that but it just blew my mind.  In Arizona I think I’ve only met 2 or 3 people from Connecticut and I’ve been out here for over 6 years.  The fact that he was from my home state really did surprise me.

Hopefully it’s a sign; we shall see.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

