Well I finally have something to write about


Too bad it’s not good news.

My business partner is pretty much broke right now.  He was expecting several more checks from his previous job and although he is still receiving them, the amount turned out to be only a couple hundred bucks instead of a couple of thousand.  This was the money he was planning on using to fund our new method for lead generation but since he doesn’t have money for it anymore, we had to put everything on hold.

Initially, we had a training class scheduled for this upcoming Saturday, but since we have no way of paying these new reps, we had to postpone it until we can figure out what the hell we are going to do.  I’m flat broke until I get my grandmother’s inheritance, and I was told I should expect it around October 15th, but I won’t be surprised if I don’t get it until sometime in November.

So this whole situation has pretty much left us as a stalemate.  I’ve been calling our existing leads and doing what I can to close deals, but until we start generating our own leads I don’t see us making any real money.  On top of it all, once we start closing deals, we don’t get paid on them until 4-6 weeks later so there is going to be a long wait before the cash flow starts coming in.

Lack of capital is our biggest problem right now.

I’ve also been looking over the figures and it’s still in question exactly how much money we can make doing this.  For 7-10k a month, I’ll save enough so I’ll be ok for awhile, but eventually we’re going to have to renegotiate our contract with the company we are partnered with.  My time is much more valuable then 10k a month and for all the work and effort I’ve put in, I don’t see myself continuing to do this for that type of money.

I’ll make that decision when we come to it, but right now we just need to close deals and at least make something from this whole mess so it’s not considered a complete loss.  I know we can make money and close deals, but now it’s a matter of how much money can we make, and is it really worth our time and effort?

Remember, you set your own worth.  If you worked for a company for 15 years and never asked for a raise, I guarantee they would be more than happy to continue paying you the same salary as the day you started.  You need to go out and get what you want, because it will never be given to you.

I know what I’m worth, and given our current arrangement, I don’t think I can earn it doing this.

We shall see…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

