Labor Day weekend begins


It’s Friday before the long Labor Day weekend.  A lot of people have already left to their destinations this morning.  I noticed traffic was very light when I ran some errands earlier.

The biz is trucking along slowly and surely.  Our first sales rep has already started submitting deals.  He did 2 yesterday which I was happy about because I wasn’t really expecting him to submit anything until next week after the holiday.  We need to figure out a way to get good qualified candidates interested in the job because the last job ad we posted gave us nothing but crap resumes.  We are averaging about 4 or 5 resumes per job posting but the candidates are rarely good.  We are smart enough to know that we aren’t going to waste our time hiring people that aren’t right for the position.  They will quit after 2 weeks and we’ll end up wasting our time.

Other than that, today has been slow thus far.  Yesterday I was busy processing those two deals and getting paperwork submitted, so I know that once we have 5 guys submitting deals every day, I’m going to be very busy.

I’m going to try and hit the gym in about 30 minutes but my back is fucked up!  Yesterday I had an awesome leg workout but I strained my lower back during heavy squats and that shit was killing me last night and this morning.  I popped a couple of Aleve and it feels better, but the pain is definitely there.  I’ve pulled my back before and it was really painful.  I couldn’t walk for a week and was lying on my couch the entire time.  This time it isn’t nearly as bad.  It only hurts when I stand after sitting down, and once I’m standing there is no pain.  Also, if I try to bend over it hurts a bit but that’s it.

Today is chest day so I’ll see how I feel, but if my back starts to give me shit I’m not going to push it.  I need to do cardio as well.  I’ve been lifting weights for 15 yrs(I’m only 28 so over half my life) and it’s amazing how you know how your body responds and reacts to the slightest changes in your diet and training after such a long period of time.  I’ve cleaned up my diet the past week, and it’s only been about 3 or 4 days of eating clean and I’m already leaner and dropped about 5lbs of water.  The water weight was most likely due to the sodium content in all of the processed shit-foods I’ve been eating prior.  I don’t want to lose any strength, but I need to diet some of this fat off.  My lower oblique’s is where I tend to hold all of it so I need to get leaner.

Enjoy your long weekends!  I’m off to the weights!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

