Fuckin brutal


My brain is overloaded with information right now.  Practically every “pay for traffic” marketing company out there seems to be a complete scam.  I must have looked at 50 or so different companies, and when I research them, the results are always the same.

“They are a scam, don’t work with them!”  “They use bots for their hits.”

When you have companies claiming they can send 1,000 unique real visitors to your website for only 5 bucks, it seems skeptical to begin with.  As of right now, I have no clue how I’m going to do this.

Google adwords still hasn’t given me any clicks so I can’t even go off of it for any real statistics yet.  The impressions aren’t happening quick enough even though I’ve amassed a keyword list of over 60 keywords with close to half a million searches per month.  I’m going to keep searching for more keywords, but it’s difficult because the industry I’m in is extremely competitive.  Right now I’m not paying more than 45 cents a click and I could easily spend $5-$20 per click in this field, so I have to be careful.  It’s difficult to find keywords that are searched for often yet have a low bid per click ratio.

The email marketing guy is a fucking clown.  The first test did generate 1 lead, so I think there is some potential there, but the asshole doesn’t return calls and only chooses to communicate through email.  It’s fucking frustrating dealing with incompetence and I don’t think I’ll be doing much more business with these fools after this first test unless something miraculous happens.  I created a second email creative and sent it off to him to run a test on.  We sent out 100k emails during the first blast, so it wasn’t a complete failure.  I still have time to test some different things and hopefully generate some leads.

10% of visitors to my landing page turned into actual leads which I think is pretty damn good considering this is low quality traffic we are talking about.  It will be interesting to see if these numbers hold up in future tests.  Once I get some traffic from Google adwords, I think that conversion will increase a lot because that’s targeted traffic.  Regardless, the email campaign needs a lot of work but the second test should start today or tomorrow and I’ll track the results accordingly.

I spent 4 bucks to run an ad on backpage targeted to a specific state I do business in.  It will run for a week and it’s just a test to see if I get any response.  If it works, I’ll obviously increase it’s exposure to my other states.  But again, I’m starting off slow and seeing results before I shell out any money.  I could have easily dropped $100 on this backpage advertising but I’ve been burned so many times that I’ve grown wiser when it comes to this shit.

So hopefully one of these marketing initiatives works and I can finally start to earn some money again.  Funny how my business started off being all about sales, now it’s all about marketing.  I know my landing pages will convert visitors into leads because they are very professional looking, so it really is just a matter of driving high quality traffic to those sites.  It seems easy but its not, and once I get this shit streamlined and working I should be able to rock and roll.  Only time will tell.

Peace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

