Had a nice long talk with my Mom last night


Apparently some of my family members back east are going through some problems.  I won’t go into detail about it out of respect for them, but hopefully everything gets worked out.

She just got back in from vacationing in Costa Rica a week ago and was telling me about her trip and how everything is going.  She asked me about my business and I told her that I don’t have anything bad to report or anything overly good to report.  Things are just moving along.  She gave me some words of encouragement which I needed to hear.

A little background on my Mom, she is the quintessential American dream.  She moved here from Colombia when she was 27 years old, and didn’t have a dime to her name.  She couldn’t even speak English at the time.

Eventually she met my father and had me and my sister, from there she started going to school to become a nurse.

Now she’s definitely got her shit together and can retire today if she’d like to.  She has her own house, has several vacation properties in Costa Rica that are worth a hell of a lot more then she paid for, and she is living very comfortably.  It just goes to show that you can achieve anything you want if you are ready to bust your ass for it.  Even now, at 60+ years old, she is working 3 jobs for 3 different home health care agencies.

Hearing her say, “You still got your whole life ahead of you, I came to this country when I was 27 and I didn’t have shit,” really put things into perspective for me.  I’m 28 and this upcoming June-July I would have been in business for one year.  Things are nowhere near where I thought they would be, but like she said, I have plenty of time and there is no rush.

I still want to make that money though, and take advantage of the opportunities I’ve been given, but it will happen when it’s ready to happen.  I’m reminded about what I mentioned in an earlier post on my blog; how I’ve just been naturally more calm and relaxed.  It’s like I know it’s going to take off, and it’s going to happen soon, so I’m not stressing about it anymore.  It’s a good feeling to have, but I still need to work hard.

So far this week I have 2 deals in.  I tried to keep the momentum going but unfortunately was unable to.  I really want to have at least 3 deals this week so I’m going to do what I can to close 1 today.  Leads will continue to flow next week and so on, and I know a lot of this has to do with consistently refilling and building a pipeline.  I haven’t been able to do that yet, so I have to do the best I can with my current lead situation.  When I’m able to, I should be able to bring in deals more consistently.

So it’s Friday, and I don’t have much planned for the day.  Work, Gym, relaxing and that’s pretty much it.  I’m looking forward to this weekend and kickin’ it by the pool for a bit.  I need to get some color on me.  Motherfuckers out here are tan ALL the time, and I stick out like a sore thumb without some color.

Today is going to be a good day, I can feel it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

