Looks like I jumped the gun a bit


Finally got a hold of my buddy yesterday and he told me that he didn’t think he could work both jobs because it would be too much for him to handle.  He said he felt as though he’d get burnt out.

Although he admitted that it was an amazing opportunity?

This is the type of shit that fucking blows me away.  People will never seize the moment, even when something great is right in front of their face.  It blows my mind.

He had no risks coming on board, and there were no negatives to the equation other then the fact that he would have to work hard and put in long days.  When I took over as sales manager for my previous employer, 12-13hr days were the norm, and I had no problem working that much because I saw the opportunity and took advantage of it.

I guess that’s not normal, and I’m learning more and more that most people will not take advantage of a situation like that, even if risk is minimized significantly.

Either way, I need to keep pressing forward, and I have a feeling that my friend will reach out to me for a job once he is laid off from his temp gig.  Hopefully by then I’ll be in a position to hire another employee.

On a brighter note, I found some cheaper leads that seem like they are going to work great.  They are phone verified exclusive leads and are only $22 each.  I placed a test order for 50 and will start receiving them on Thursday.  The whole concept behind how the lead is generated sounds good, so hopefully they will convert well.  If I can convert them at 7-10% I’ll be very happy with that, and at their current price point, it won’t be long before I can order a shitload and have another employee here on the phone full time. 

Over the course of the last 6 or so months, I’ve only been ordering 30-90 leads a month because that’s all I could afford.  When you are ordering that little, it becomes very hard to generate momentum and sales.  I’ll never get anywhere closing 1-5 deals a month, and that’s what I’ve been doing these past few months.

My very first month I closed 12 deals and that was with 160 decent quality internet leads.  I’ll be able to order 200 or more for myself this month if they don’t suck, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

