The importance of staying positive


This is true for anything in life, but is that much more important in business.  Regardless of what type of business you are in, staying positive is crucial for your success.  In sales it’s everything.  Negativity spreads like a fucking wild fire and it’s hard to put that shit out.  You ever hear the saying “misery loves company?”  It’s so true.

With me, this is what I have the most trouble with.  You think it would be easy, but staying upbeat is hard to do when you are struggling and things aren’t going as well as you’d like.  The good news is that I recognize this trait in myself and am constantly working on fixing it.  If I feel as though I’m taking a turn to negative town, I stop; change my mindset and press forward.

It’s Wednesday, and the leads I’m getting seem to be OK, but it’s still too early to tell how good or bad the quality is.  The negative side of me says, “these leads are shit, I haven’t closed a deal yet, everyone I talk to is not qualified,” while the positive side says, “relax, you only took 10 leads so far, its way to soon to draw conclusions, you only need 4-5 deals out of this batch of leads to hit the conversion ratio you need, it will all balance out in the end, if other people are converting these leads high, I can too, and so on…”  I keep repeating that mantra over and over in my head and train my mind to think in that pattern.

So if you are starting your own business venture, or doing whatever it is you do, make sure you surround yourself with positive people.  If anyone in your circle is negative, cut ties with them immediately.  Don’t associate with people that are trying to bring you down.  It’s not worth it, and there are much more important things you could be focusing your energy on.  Such as “how am I going to make my first million?!”

Cheers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

