Thoughts on Academy Awards


It’s Sunday night and the Academy Awards are on TV.  One huge massive room filled with all of the top celebrities in the movie business.  I doubt there are more than 5 people in that room that do not have a net worth of at least a million dollars.

And I can’t only help but think, is it really that hard to become wealthy?  These people, have made millions upon millions of dollars for playing “make believe” in front of a camera.  I understand that industry is probably one of the hardest, if not the hardest industry to make it in, however when you actually sit back and think about how these actors and actresses make their millions, it’s laughable.

Maybe I’m just bitter.

I’m sure every single one of those people worked their ass off to get to where they are.  I just think it’s funny how they make their fortunes.  I’m going to pretend to be someone else, and you are going to pay me 20 million dollars to do it.

If I begin to tell myself that earning money, and creating wealth is easy, will I create more of it?  Will it be less of a hassle for me to make my first million?  Everywhere I look I see someone who is wealthy and I ask myself; “what is different about this individual that allows him/her to have a high net worth?  How are they different from me?”

The answer is, they are no different.  They are just persistent, they don’t give up at the first sign of failure, and they continue pressing forward until they get to where they want to go.  That is exactly my mentality, and has been since I graduated college.

Soon, I will be one of those people, and other people may look at me and ask themselves the same questions I asked.  Your fate is what you make; your life is what you create.  You are not predetermined a particular status or place in life.  It’s all 100% up to you how you want to live it.  Its 100% up to you to go about changing your life if things are not the way you want them to be.

I have one friend that I’m going to tell a quick story about.  He is a 30yr old guy that was my coworker last year.  When I initially started as manager of the sales force in 2008-2009, I confided in my friend that I ultimately wanted to start my own company, and at the time I was thinking I was going to do it in California.  He had mentioned to me on numerous occasions that he had always wanted to move to California, and he was really good at sales, so I figured I’d ask him if he wanted to be my business partner.  He agreed.

Over the course of the next several months, I busted my ass typing up a business plan, and I scheduled a couple of meetings with him to sit down and go over the numbers.  He cancelled several times because he wanted to go to the bar and didn’t seem too motivated.  I continued to work hard, and I even found and investor to give us the startup cash for our business.  He continued his lazy behavior and seemed more concerned with going out, then working on the business.  Eventually it got to the point where I cut him off.  I was doing all of the work and didn’t need him anyways.

The time finally came for me to start my company, and I was in the beginning stages of it.  He called me out of the blue and asked me to lunch.  At lunch he mentioned how he had some money to invest and wanted to be my partner.  I told him I didn’t need a partner, and if he was serious about this, he should have shown it earlier instead of fucking off.  Obviously he wasn’t too happy with that comment.

He was approached by a completely different individual about doing the same thing.  The guy said he needed some startup cash and was looking for a partner.  He declined being partners, and now that individual has a company that is flourishing on all levels and starting to make a pretty penny.

How many fucking times does this idiot need to be given these incredible opportunities before jumping on one of them?  The bottom line is, he won’t.  He will continue his life of being nothing more than a commission only employee working for someone.  What’s even sadder is that he doesn’t seem to care.  He enjoys earning enough money to pay his bills, and have some spending cash for the bars on the weekends.  Retirement?  House?  401k?  Ya fucking right.

He is going to blink his eyes and he will be 40 yrs old and he is not going to have shit to his name; quite sad.

So why did I tell you this story?  Life is about choices.  He could have jumped at either of the opportunities that were available to him, and he would be in a much better position, but he chose not to.  He has no one to blame but himself.  The same goes for you, for me, and for everyone.  You are in control of your life.  It’s just a matter of how you chose to direct it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

